Sydney Accord

The Sydney Accord is an International Agreement between bodies responsible for accrediting engineering technology academic programmes.

The Sydney Accord was signed in June 2001, by seven founding signatories representing; Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Ireland, New Zealand, United Kingdom and South Africa. 

As with the other Accords the signatories are committed to development and recognition of good practice in engineering education. The Sydney Accord is specifically focused on academic programmes dealing with engineering technology.

The Accord acknowledges that accreditation of these academic programmes is a key foundation for the practice of engineering technology in each of the countries or territories covered by the Accord.

It recognises the importance of the roles engineering technologists as part of a wider engineering team. Even though the term engineering technologist is used throughout, it is mindful that these are often termed differently within the specific jurisdictions. It also includes roles such as; certified or applied science technologists, which may also be called associate or incorporated engineers.

Currently there are eleven signatories that make up the Sydney Accord.

There are also two organisations, who hold provisional signatory status.